Wisconsin Ecology 17th Annual Fall Symposium

Elinor Ostrom

Wisconsin Ecology is proud to announce that Elinor Ostrom will be the plenary speaker at our 17th annual Fall Ecology Symposium.

Elinor Ostrom is Distinguished Professor, Arthur F. Bentley Professor of Political Science, and Senior Research Director of the Workshop in Political Theory and Policy Analysis, Indiana University, Bloomington; and Founding Director, Center for the Study of Institutional Diversity, Arizona State University. She is a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the National Academy of Sciences, and the American Philosophical Society, and a recipient of the Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel 2009, Reimar Lüst Award for International Scholarly and Cultural Exchange, the Elazar Distinguished Federalism Scholar Award, the Frank E. Seidman Distinguished Award in Political Economy, the Johan Skytte Prize in Political Science, the Atlas Economic Research Foundation's Lifetime Achievement Award, and the John J. Carty Award for the Advancement of Science.

Professor Ostrom will give a lecture entitled "Polycentric Institutions to Cope with Ecological and Social Diversity."

Fall 2011 Symposium

Thursday, October 6, 2011
3:00 PM - Elinor Ostrom
4:15 PM - Panel Discussion
Reception to follow

Plenary Speaker:
Elinor Ostrom
2009 Nobel Prize Winner in Economic Sciences
Distinguished Professor at Indiana University & Research Professor at Arizona State University

The Forum, Wisconsin Institutes for Discovery

See previous Symposia